Sustainable Tourism Media Awards Honours Journalists

The Ministry of Tourism, Trade and Industry (MTTI), Uganda Wildlife Authority (UWA), Uganda Tourism Board, Uganda Tourism Association (UTA), Media and Tourism Training Institutions, Association of Uganda Tour Operators (AUTO), Uganda Hotel Owners Association (UHOA) and the USAID-STAR program successfully organized the first ever colorful Sustainable Tourism Media Awards Program   for excellent reporting on sustainable tourism issues and hosted a gala dinner event at the Kampala Serena Hotel on the evening of September 26, 2010 to award prizes. The event was presided over by the Honorable Janat Mukwaya, the Minister of General Duties from the Prime Minister’s Office and Honorable Serapio Rukundo, the Minister of State for Tourism. Approximately 150 others were in attendance representing media, private sector, and other community leaders.

The Sustainable Tourism Media Awards Program was among several collaborative actions that were agreed upon by different sustainable tourism stakeholders at a collaborative work planning retreat organized by USAID-STAR in October 2009. The stakeholder groups represented at the retreat included national government, the media, local government, conservation agencies, tour operators and hospitality, international friends, training institutions, non-governmental organizations, community based organizations and the private sector. The media representatives present proposed that annual media awards program be established to recognize journalists who excellently cover tourism related issues.

A Committee/Panel of Judges, with representatives from MTTI, UWA, UHOA, UTA, AUTO, UTB, Fountain Publishers, Media/Tourism Training Institutions and USAID-STAR formulated the judging criteria and selected the best publications based on content, educational value, information quality, creativity, accuracy of research, newsworthiness, and other qualifications. They also oversaw the collection of prizes from different private sector partners. Awards were offered in three categories: print, radio and television broadcast. Over 70 articles were submitted for competition.

For each category, one grand-prize winner and two runners-up were awarded. Grand-prize winners were awarded 1,000,000 UGX plus other prizes that included international travel vouchers and many in-country travel and adventure opportunities, all donated by tourism private sector companies and conservation agencies. The two runners-up were awarded 500,000 UGX each plus in-country travel and restaurant vouchers. Several journalists went home with Honorable Mention awards, honoring frequency, in-depth research, popularity, and creative educational value. Media Houses were also recognized for their excellent coverage of tourism and conservation related issues.

Excellent Coverage for Sustainable Tourism in the Print Media

Winner- Gerald Tenywa, New Vision, 1st Runner Up- Deusdedit Ruhangariyo, New Vision, 2nd Runner Up- Herbert Benon Oluka, Daily Monitor

Excellent Coverage for Sustainable Tourism for Television Broadcast

Winner- Craig Kadoda, NTV Uganda, 1st Runner Up- Tom Walsh, CNN, 2nd Runner Up- Chris Ocamringa, NTV Uganda

Excellent Coverage for Sustainable Tourism for Radio Broadcast

Winner- Ben Jumbe, KFM Radio, 1st Runner Up- Dennis Sigoa, UBC Radio, 2nd Runner Up- Tuguragara Matojo, Radio West

Excellent Coverage for Sustainable Tourism by a Media House

Winner- NTV Uganda, 1st Runner Up- New Vision, 2nd Runner Up- Daily Monitor

This event has been made possible with generous support to the committee from United States Agency for International Development, TourGuide Publications, Procurement News and Metro Magazine, Emirates Airlines, Kampala Serena Hotel, Nile Breweries (Nile Gold), Century Bottling Company (Coca-Cola, DASANI), Wildlife Clubs of Uganda, Uganda Wildlife Authority, Chobe Safari Lodge, Great Lakes Safaris Company. Masindi Hotel, Lake Kitandara Tours and Travel LTD, Golf Course Hotel, Protea Hotel Kampala, Wild Places, Volcanoes Safaris, Iguana Club and Matooke Tours, Wild Frontiers, Rhino Fund Uganda, Red Chilli Hideaway LTD, Geolodges, AfriTours & Travel, Pearl of Africa Tours and Travel LTD, Nile Rivers Explorers, Adrift Adventures, MTN, Lotus Mexicana Restaurant and NYK, Ibamba Restaurant, Steers Restaurant, Uganda Wines and Spirits Distributors, UCHUMI Super Market, Nawab Authentic Indian Restaurant, Red Lantern Chinese Restaurant, ImageZ, Banana Boat, National Arts and Crafts of Uganda Association

The Sustainable Tourism Media Awards will be an annual event and has a great way for the public and private sector to show how important media is for the economic growth of the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.